Valentine’s weekend

Good Morning Almost Afternoon,

I will warn you now that I have to keep this somewhat short because we have Zone P-day today and that is in Albany (about an hour away). Things in Sweet Home are going well.

We have found two potential investigators but we haven’t got to go back to the one and the other, someone else answered the door when we got back and they basically told us to go away. So yeah. That’s okay. They seemed a little stressed. We did a lot more tracting this week because we feel as if we don’t have many people to teach that are investigators.

The ward is good but right now they are working on reactivating their members because there are a lot of people on the membership records and only about a third of them that come. We have also been helping out by stopping by addresses in areas that we are in when we have a few minutes so that we can weed out who still lives there and who does not. We walk and drive. We are driving to Lebanon three times I think this month, Albany once, and Salem once so we have to save our miles. We have been doing more walking as a result. It’s good for us though.

Our area is quite big but I don’t quite know because it is like wide and thin but we focus our efforts more on where the town of Sweet Home is. I think there are other places included but they are way out and we don’t get to them much because of the mileage. I am still learning though and we are exploring new places. The streets are kinda confusing because they end and then they appear in a totally different place on another street. I will figure it out though. I’m not too worried because even my trainer gets lost sometimes. But then she takes different ways and confuses me of how we got there.

We have one investigator on date. She is nine and a daughter of members but she didn’t want to get baptized when she was eight so she fell under our jurisdiction. She set the date in May though so we will see how it works out. We are also teaching another man who went from no way to baptism with Sister Laudie (the previous missionary here) and Sister Densley to he knows he wants to get baptized but isn’t ready for a date last night. Super exciting! He is slowly but surely learning the gospel.

Don’t worry about me getting fed. The people here in Sweet Home make sure that we are fed regularly.

Real quick, Happy Belated Valentine’s Day! My companion’s mom sent both of us fuzzy socks and heart shaped sunglasses so that was cool. Also, I don’t know if I told you but thank you for the package. It has been really helpful.

There is also a family that we are teaching that is really fun. They are less actives and he has two sons. He really likes the missionaries and puzzles. He makes a new one at least each week and there are boxes of them in his house that he will eventually make them. He is really amazing and truly strives to live the gospel.

Hyrum was on my mind a lot this week so thank you for letting me know. I will do my best not to worry. I will keep him in my prayers though. I know that the Lord is truly looking out for you and everyone back home. I hope that he gets better soon. Let him know that I love him too.

I am glad that your classes are going well. Apparently it takes six weeks to get accustomed to new environments so I am glad that you are feeling good about it. You are a great teacher and your students will learn a lot from you.

Anyways, I have to go write to my mission president so I will write more in my letter home. I hope you are having a great week and that it stays great.

I know that Jesus Christ is our Savior and that he died to atone for our sins. I know that God the Father and Jesus Christ appeared to Joseph Smith and charged him with restoring God’s gospel here to the earth. I know that he created a plan for us so we could return to live with Him again. I know the Book of Mormon is the word of God and that it truly testifies of Jesus Christ. I know that the Lord asks nothing of us that He will not provide a way for us to accomplish it. I know that my Savior loves me and each and every one of us here on the earth. I know this and leave this testimony with you in the name of Jesus Christ amen.

Scripture for this week is 2 Nephi 4. It is the psalm of Nephi and it really touched me today of the things and blessings he received because he knew in who he trusted. I would encourage you to read it because it strengthened my soul and can do the same for you.

Love you lots.

Sister Elizondo

Oregon Salem

Leave a Reply

