April 25, 2016

Good Afternoon Familia,

I am glad that you are almost all doing better. I hope that grandpa gets better but I know that the Lord has a plan for each of us and that his way is much more fulfilling than ours could ever be. I will keep grandma and Uncle Mike in my prayers though.
Sweet Home is doing great! I am doing pretty awesome too! This week we had interviews with our mission president because transfers are coming up within the week. That is somewhat nerve wracking but also exciting. We will see what the Lord has in store for me next week I guess. But on Tuesday I drove out to Albany and had a district meeting during interviews which was awesome because we had President and Sister Samuelian speak to us and our zone leaders and sister training leaders. This was my first last interview with President Samuelian because the next time around it will be with my new mission president. That is weird to think about. I am excited about that as well though. My mission president is awesome but I know that my new mission president will be awesome as well.
Tim got baptized!!! It was on Saturday in the morning because there was a Ward Temple Trip that afternoon and we wanted ward members to be able to come to the baptism. He was so excited and so happy. It was humbling to see the way that the Lord can change a person. When we let Him into our lives and we are willing to accept His way, miracles and wonders are just waiting in our futures. He is doing great though. I guess I will tell you that when we were planning the baptism program out with Tim I may or may not have volunteered my companion and I for a musical number and that went well. We sang Amazing Grace because that is what he wanted and it wasn’t too terrifying to stand in front of people and sing. Maybe just a little bit. No but really, it touched Tim and that is what mattered most.
This week I also went to another baptism that was a child of record however me and my companion have been teaching her because her parents asked us to before she got baptized. That is why we went. Her’s was on Friday and she is so cute. She is 8 and her family is super sweet. They recently moved back to Sweet Home and so that was really cool. We have been helping them out because they are remodeling right now. As of yet, I have not been able to paint but I am determined so hopefully this dream will come true in the near future.
This week what really has stood out to me is the power and influence of the word of God in people’s lives. I just started the war chapters in Alma but all before that we see that when things start getting tough, or when people start going astray, or so on, the prophets or people in the Book of Mormon go out and preach the word of God and miracles happen. The people change, or those that are willing to let it into their lives, change. Who knew that such a simple thing could change lives. As I got to see Tim be baptized this past Saturday, I know that God was there with him every step of his journey. How could he not have been. The change in him could not have been from anything else than the influence of the word of God in his life. We asked him how he felt after he got baptized and confirmed and he told us that he felt OK and that everything would work out. He said he also felt light. Before he said that he never felt right or OK but now he does. That is so simple and small but those are the things that matter most, right. To be at peace with yourself and the world around you. My invitation to you is to read the word of God (a.k.a the scriptures, a.k.a The Book of Mormon) and let it change you. Let it fill you and influence you to do good, because if you let it, it can do it. The Book of Mormon is true and I know that, “a man would get nearer to God by abiding by its precepts, than by any other book.”
In fact, if you want to get crazy here, read the introduction to the Book of Mormon or at least the last two paragraphs and accept that challenge. It was not written for just those who aren’t members of the church. It was also written for us. If you find that doubts are creeping in or that you want to be better or just want to reaffirm that you know that this gospel is true, than read the Book of Mormon and pray about it. God will answer you and you will know that you have found the truth. The fullness of his everlasting gospel. I know that the Book of Mormon is true and that it was written for us right now. I know that through reading and applying the principles that are found within its pages we will live after the manner of happiness and we will find peace in these confusing times.
That is super cool about Emma. I can’t believe it is her last semester. That is weird to think about. Tell Brother Syphus that I hope Avery and her sister are doing well. I know that the Lord is aware of them and his hand is in their lives.

Anyways, I will keep you posted and I have had a good week and I am doing well. I love you lots and I know that the Lord is looking out for you.

Sister Elizondo
Salem Oregon Mission
Leave a Reply

