May 9, 2016

This was the post the day after Mother’s Day. I forgot to post it. – Mom

Dear Familia,

Thanks mom. Sometimes it is hard to see the change when you are the one changing and you are constantly just like what’s next. You don’t have much time for retrospect on a mission but when you do it is kind of crazy. This is really important to me and I am glad that you told me. You really are amazing and I love you so much mom. Also, I don’t mind about the mouth thing, I am just glad that I got you as a mom and the spiritual strength from you. Thank You So Much!!
We do random service sometimes. Like yesterday I was telling you about how we visited some of the widows in the ward and took them a cupcake because it was part of the lesson in Relief Society that day. There were only like five of them but I know that each of them appreciated our stop in and that we took the time to wish them a Happy Mother’s Day. It might surprise you to know how many people don’t get wished that or even remembered. We ask people sometimes if they need any help or if we can serve them and most of them say no or in a kind way tell us to move along. But there was one experience with a less active where we went over and served her because she was cleaning house anyways and we were there so why not. At the end of the visit she told us that next time we could do a lesson. It wasn’t a big thing, we just swept and washed dishes but it meant a lot to her because she works and takes care of her family and she has little time at home. We were happy to help and we got to know her better. She is a really awesome person and I am excited to get to know her more.
Isn’t it wonderful how the Lord can take every aspect of our lives and make it worth something to someone. Even through our example we influence those around us. I catch myself sometimes reminding myself that I wear this tag, but am I living like I should or acting as a servant of the Lord would act. It keeps me in line.
One experience that I want to share with you real quick is from last night, after I called you. There was a young man walking and we were driving by and we felt like we needed to go and talk to him. We did and it turns out his mom used to come to our church and the missionaries taught his sisters before. I know that the Lord was in that meeting and that something that this young man is going through, that he needs the Lords help and he sent us. It amazes me sometimes how the Lord works but he is there. All we have to do is ask, listen, and act.
I love you all so much and I know that the Lord is looking out for you. I hope you all have an awesome week and I will talk to you next week.
Love
Sister Elizondo
Oregon Salem Mission
Leave a Reply

