June 27 Father’s Day

Dear Familia,

This week was really busy but fun! I can’t believe it was just last week that Father’s Day occurred. I hope everyone’s Father’s Day was awesome and that you got to call and let your Dad’s know that you care about them.

I started my week with ZTM where I learned a really powerful concept. Our Zone Leaders were training us on becoming. They asked us who we wanted to be at the end of our missions and then they taught us how we could get there. They talked about how when we have the desire to change the Lord can help us fulfill that desire. But in order to fulfill that desire, the Lord asks us to give some things up in order to change. He doesn’t do this to make us unhappy or make our life seem boring. He does it because he loves us and he wants to remove everything that would keep us from being the person we can become. Well, that is all good and dandy you may be thinking right now, but why would I give these things up when that make me happy? The answer is simply because we love the Lord and we know that he loves us. He asks us and if we are willing to give it up, he can help us become more like him and gain greater happiness. This made me really take a look at what I would be willing to give up or change for the Lord. It surprised me a little to see what I would be willing and not be willing to give up right now, but it made me aware so that I could strive to change that. I just thought that was really awesome and I would invite all of you to determine who you want to be in a certain time from now and then change one thing because of it. The Lord will bless you and you will truly become happier.
The other big thing that happened this week is that on Friday I said good-bye to President and Sister Samuelian. They came around and met with us all one last time before they will leave at the end of this month. That was a bitter sweet day but I know that it is time for them to be released and that President and Sister Tateoka are what we need at this time and that they were called of God. I look forward to learning from them. One thing that stuck out to me is that President said that this life was meant to be hard, but it will be worth it in the end. I also got to see a very short video of our new mission president and his wife that they made for us. They are so sweet and I am excited to meet them and get to know them better. Interesting tidbit is that President Tateoka is from Twin Falls Idaho. I thought that was neat.
My investigators are doing well and so are the less actives. We visited a lot of them yesterday.
I hope all of you are doing well and I will talk to you more next week.
Love,
Sister Elizondo
Oregon Salem Mission      Darcie with Pres. Samuelian
Leave a Reply

